Reviews

Reviews

Our stay at Mahi Oli'Oli was truly wonderful. The location is incredibly serene, gorgeous and secluded. Really the perfect way to relax and enjoy the southern part of the island in peace -- great access to the volcanoes, Hilo, beaches and tidepools. The place itself has everything you could dream of needing: an amazing indoor/outdoor shower, lovely kitchen, and beautiful eucalyptus floors milled on the island that make it smell like a spa. We went to sleep to the symphony of birds and frogs and awoke to find wild turkeys, hogs and all kinds of other island life. We were actually greeted by 8 lucky turkeys on the morning of Thanksgiving. The porch and separate lanai are wonderful to lounge on, and Andy and Bob have planted a gorgeous tropical garden that surrounds the property. It was tough to leave, and I hope we are able to visit again before too long!

Justine F.  
November 20, 2012


My husband and I stayed at Mahi Oli'Oli from 10/1 thru 10/7/2012. Everything about this property was amazing: location, views, landscaping, interior design, lanai, privacy, new sun bathing deck. Bob and Andy were very easy to communicate with and their descriptions of the property were accurate; the pictures they posted don't lie! Matt, their property caretaker was very helpful and polite. Mahi Oli'Oli was very quite during the day however the frogs were quite loud at night, but this added to the overall charm of the place. The directions to the property Andy provided were very clear; we were able to find it at night without a hitch. The only thing that would have improved our experience is if we could have stayed for another week! Highly recommend.

Debbie L.
San Diego, California
October 7, 2012

Tell Us About Your Stay

Name *
Name
Date of Stay *
Date of Stay

The only disappointment brought by our second stay at Mahi Oli-Oli came by the end of the stay, when we had to leave it; my wife with tears in her eyes and I with a grip in my heart. Spending time at Mahi Oli-Oli is not one more ritual vacation wetted by umbrella drinks and fed by self-aggrandizing resort food, but a spiritual experience that stays with you for the rest of your life. The soul of true Hawai'i descends over those fortunate enough to understand it and receive it with an open heart. Again, we will be back.

Marcelo & Penelope V.
Santa Fe, NM
March 21, 2012


My husband and I enjoyed quiet star studded nights and brilliant days punctuated by an occasional shower at Bob & Andy's Mahi Ol'i Ol'i, The tree-canopied road and driveway into the property have a magical, peaceful feel. The coast in this region is rough and ready, from the pali at Hawaiian Paradise Park, where we watched whales and a pair of companionable nenes (Hawaiian geese)at close range, to the stark sobering beauty of the lava field at Kalapana, where new growth ohia trees and healing noni fruit trees are already springing up. In between, snorkel the tidepools at Kapoho, float in the soothing oceanside "warm pool" fed by hot springs and cooler ocean water, and watch surfers at family and surfer-oriented Isaac Hale Beach a short drive down to the end of the road. Also try Kahena Beach if you are there on a Sunday for the drumming circle. Bob and andy provide maps and a guide book to local sights and eateries, as well as books and Dvds of Hawaiaana that enhanced our enjoyment and appreciation of our surroundings. The cottage itself is inviting and simply beautiful, with a hammock, lounge chairs and teak dining table on the large covered deck from which to enjoy the ocean view. Yoga mats are thoughtfully provided for yoga on the deck. Do drive up to the volcano to hike the trails, go through the lava tube that emerges into a fern forest, then eat dinner at nearby Kailua Lodge before going back to view the present-at-the creation orange glow and shifting steam plume of the volcano (preferably under a full moon), whether Pele is erupting or not. The cottage kitchen is well equipped for meal preparation, and the farmer's market and Pahoa town are good sources of organic food and fish. If you want to relax and rejuvenate off the beaten path, try an extended stay at Mahi Oli Oli; you'll love it.

Lenley & Jay L.
Waynesburg, PA
February 4, 2012 - March 17, 2012


My wife and I spent a week at Bob & Andy's place, and if you are looking for a laid back, small town vibe, then this is the place to be. The location is amazing and the home has a very "high-end" feel. Before arriving Andy made sure we had all the information needed to get acquainted with place, the location, and the nearby sites to check out. Very organized and helpful information. It is very close to the black sand beaches and lava cliffs, as well as an active volcano. There are a lot of locals that still live in the area so you get a feel of the local HI life. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with nice accommodations and some seclusion, this is your place. We will definitely be back! Thank you to our gracious hosts! PS. Check out the local farmers market on Sunday, good local food and people.

Raphael M.
Seattle, WA
June 4, 2011


My husband honeymooned at Mahi Oli'Oli for 2 weeks in January of 2011. I feel like there are no words that could accurately describe what a magical place it is - it is truly paradise. The pictures shown on the website are really nice, but no picture could ever do it justice. Andy & Bob really have thought of everything. There are tons of books about the island, and there is a binder full of info on all of the local attractions, restaurants, beaches, etc. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, and there are plenty of bath and beach towels. We were there for 2 weeks, and there was not one thing we ever had to go out and buy. There is only one neighboring house that you can see from one of the kitchen windows, but besides that you are totally alone in the most beautiful little house nestled in the rain forest. When we went in to town for groceries or dinner, the locals were always very friendly and helpful. Pahoa is not a tourist-y place at all, it's so quaint! We tried most of the restaurants in town (all were fantastic), and the Farmer's Market on Sundays is so great. When we were packing up, we were on our way to Oahu for one more week of our honeymoon, but I actually cried because I didn't want to leave. We're still in Oahu right now, and even though it is beautiful, nothing will ever compare to our trip to Mahi Oli'Oli. If I'm ever lucky enough to be back in Hawaii, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. 
Thanks so much Bob & Andy!!!

Chrystal W.
Edmonton, Alberta, CN
January 16, 2011


I stayed at Andy & Bob's cottage for a last-minute vacation during Thanksgiving 2010... and I still dream of it. The cottage is even better than pictured, extremely well-designed, peaceful, beautiful, romantic, restorative. I have been to Hawaii many times (my brother lived in Oahu for a few years), so I always appreciate those places that feel laid-back and conjure off-the-beaten path old Hawaii, not a generic hotel. I flew in on the night flight, so I stopped at the Hilo Farmer's market to load up on fresh fruits, coffee and flowers. I loved going to the natural hot pond morning or evening, visiting Kaiani for yoga classes (and even a delicious Thanksgiving dinner!), and taking a night hike out to view the lava flowing into the ocean. It was a perfect vacation — completely soulful, just what I needed after working day and night for months to launch a new product. The owners and their local manager were very responsive to my every need (even letting me check out later due to a night flight), and returned my deposit promptly with a very nice thank you note after my departure. I recently moved to the east coast, so getting to Hawaii isn't as easy as being in California, but when I go back, I want to return here. I can't recommend this place highly enough to those seeking peace and beauty in a harmonious setting.

Recommended for: Age 55+,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway

Deirdre Farabaugh
San Francisco, CA
November 20, 2010


Un ami des propios nous attendait pour l'accueil les bras chargés de fleurs et de fruits exquis ! Une petite maison mais tout confort entourée de verdure, une prairie où les vaches paissent et tout au loin, la mer ! Une grande galerie couverte où il fait bon dormir dans le hamac. Le silence !

Manon L.
Quebec
May 9, 2010


This place has to be seen to be comprehended. I was really impressed by how meticulously the house is constructed; not a single detail was overlooked. It's also decorated and arranged with incredibly good taste. The queen size bed faces to the southeast towards two oversized sliding glass doors, offering a broad view of untouched jungle to wake up to. Facing east provides a panoramic view of the ocean. This is truly one of my favorite places on earth, and I have no doubt that I'll be coming back. Bob and Andy were very helpful and accommodating as I made my reservation on short notice. The abundance of fresh fruit in the kitchen on my arrival was an especially nice touch. I feel that I got much more than I paid

Dan B.
Lakewood, CO
January 1, 2010

Our experience on the Big Island was hands down the best part of our trip. And the best part of the Big Island for us (and we really enjoyed it all!) was your cottage. The natural beauty and serenity were divine - literally: we felt reverential towards your cottage and property. Thank you so much for the time and effort you put into it. We enjoyed every moment being there together.

Mahalo!!!

Gwenn G.

Flagstaff, AZ

March 23, 2013

The ultimate Hawaiian paradise! The pictures, descriptions, and reviews are SPOT ON! We spent our 10th wedding anniversary at Mahi Oli'Oli. 9 days we will remember forever! The East side of the Big Island is a lush, gorgeous, peaceful, quiet rainforest. Mahi Oli'Oli is close to so many wonderful things: Champagne Ponds, Kapoho Tide Pools, Kaimu New Black Sand Beach, Volcano National Park, Pu'u O'o Vent, etc. The guys really outdid themselves with the concept and design of the entire property. Gorgeous landscaping, sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean, and most of all the most calm, serene, clean, and wonderful cottage perched on top of their 6 acre property. We fell in love with Pahoa and cannot wait to return. We will definitely stay at Mahi Oli'Oli again and suggest this wonderful place to any and all friends who have thoughts of visiting the Big Island! 

Daveda Karanas

Fort Worth, Texas

May 18, 2013

May 18, 2013